## MICE COMMON FUND AGREEMENT

# The International Muon Ionization Cooling Experiment

As is the case with collaborative particle physics experiments hosted by international laboratories, a MICE Common Fund is being levied to support the activities of the collaboration in the development and operation of the MICE experiment at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL).

The Common Fund will be used to share the costs of mounting the experiment at RAL equitably across the MICE Collaboration and will cover items such as utilities, consumables, and support services provided by the host laboratory, and, occasionally, small unforeseen equipment costs associated with detector commissioning or operation by the collaborating institutions.

#### **Common Fund**

The list of the items to be covered by the Common Fund includes:

- 1. Utilities and infrastructure services to operate MICE (e.g. power, water, gases and cryogens);
- 2. Technical/engineering support for repair, maintenance of MICE infrastructure and experiment;
- 3. MICE Muon Beam operation and maintenance;
- 4. Office facilities (e.g. desks, pc/internet access, phones, photocopiers etc);
- 5. Access to RAL services (e.g. purchasing & financial, HSE);
- 6. Miscellaneous cabling (cable trays, break out panels, etc., ethernet connections, and wireless transmitters) for electronics, DAQ and communication;
- 7. Data-storage media and facilities for data taking;
- 8. User support for MICE collaborators and visitors, including local transport, and housing; and
- 9. (On-site) office supplies, including computing supplies.

The ISIS operation and beam delivery are a contribution from the host laboratory.

#### **Common Fund operating procedure**

The MICE Collaboration Board has agreed that the Common Fund be levied demographically across the collaborating institutions. This arrangement has been endorsed by the MICE Project Board (the CMPB) and the Funding Agencies Committee (FAC).

Each member group within the collaboration must make an annual contribution to the Common Fund based on the number of researchers within the group using the experiment who hold a PhD. The level of the annual contribution will be reviewed every year and adjusted as required to maintain an equitable distribution across collaborating institutions. For the first levy, the contribution has been set at £3000 per PhD holder.

A survey of international collaborators will be undertaken each year to gather the information required to set Common Fund contributions and to assist the Laboratory in making appropriate provision for technical and administrative support. This includes details of institution, names of potential users, duration of visit and a description of work. Invoices will be raised by RAL based on the returns to collect Common Fund contributions from each collaborating group. In case of a shortage in the Common Fund contributions, the issue will be raised at the Funding Agencies Committee by the host laboratory.

## **Management and Reporting**

The Common Fund will be managed by the MICE Project Manager.

A report will be made by the Project Manager to the MICE Collaboration Board on the usage of the Common Fund at each collaboration meeting accompanied by a brief summary of the expenditure and a projection of future expenses. The management of the Common Fund will be reported to the Funding Agency Committee.

The level of annual contributions will be reviewed and re-calculated in December each year, and specifically at completion of MICE Step V where operating costs are expected to increase. All changes will be agreed by the Funding Agencies Committee.

### **Effective Date and Duration**

This agreement will become effective from 1 April 2008, as approved by the current MICE Collaboration Board.

The agreement will be signed by the Institutes Representatives on the MICE Collaboration Board

A. Blondel (Geneva, Spokesman)	M. Zisman (LBNL Deputy spokesman)	A. Nichols (STFC, RAL, Project Manager)
R. Tsenov (Sofia)	L. Jia (ICST Harbin)	M. Bonesini (Milan)
V. Palladino (Naples)	L. Tortora (Rome III)	G. Giannini (Trieste)
S. Ishimoto (KEK)	Y. Kuno (Osaka)	F. Filthaut (Netherlands)
R. Garoby (CERN)	J.S. Grauhlich (Geneva)	P. Kyberd (Brunel)
R. Seviour (Cockcroft/Lancaster)	A. Moss (DL)	P. Soler (Glasgow)
K. Long (Imperial, CB Chair)	R. Gamet (Liverpool)	J. Cobb (Oxford)
T. Bradshaw (STFC, RAL)	C. Booth (Sheffield, CB secretary)	J. Norem (ANL)
R. Palmer (BNL)	D. Winn (Fairfield)	A. Bross (FNAL)
T. Hart (Illinois Institute of Technology)	Y. Onel (lowa)	R. Rimmer (JLAB)
D. Li (LBNL)	D. Summers (Mississippi)	M.A.C. (Northern Illinois University)
G. Hanson (UC Riverside)	D. Cline (UCLA)	